Acquisition project | Believe pte
πŸ“„

Acquisition project | Believe pte

Brand Overview

Iba is a Halal certified, Vegan cosmetics and a Personal care brand from the house of Believe. Iba in India is available in D2C, Market Places and Offline and does a annual revenue of 30 Crores. Approx. 75% of the revenue come from online channels. 3 categories generate 70% of the revenue online. Lipsticks, Makeup kit and Hair Colors. Out of this Hair Color which is the 3rd highest generator of revenue brings in 15% of the online business.

​

For this Project, I will be taking Hair Color as the category for Acquiring new customers.

​

Understanding the Product

Iba's Henna Hair Color is a safe to use Hair color. This is Vegan and Halal Certified. Henna Plays a huge role in the TG's life when it comes to faith. The Product is safe and has no harmful chemicals, this is a natural, safe to use product with no Ammonia and also has goodness of Soy proteins. It is available in 4 shades - Dark Brown, Light Brown, Coal and Burgundy. This Hair color is easy to apply (30 minutes) and is long lasting (4-6 weeks). Gives 100% Coverage and is available at a attractive price point of Rs.199. This is available in Powder Format

​

Understanding the Competition:

Henna Hair color is a very unorganised market. While there are a few brands, there is a lot of room to play.

​

Competitor

SKU

Price

Nat Habit Henna Paste

220 g

Rs.231

Himalaya

120 g

Rs.75

Nupur

500 g

Rs.200

Mama Earth Henna

150 g

Rs.249

Iba Henna Hair color

70 g

Rs.199

Nat Habit (Henna) is the biggest seller in Amazon with 3.6 Crores Monthly (Helium10) and Iba ranks third with 22 Lakhs in Amazon. There is a huge gap between 1 & 3. Iba with Halal, Vegan, No Harmful chemicals credentials has a potential to own this space.

​

Understanding the User - Overall

Surveyed 20 Consumers. Who have bought Iba Hair color more than once

Users Demo.png

​

1.Most of our customers fall in the age group of 35-44, followed by 24-35. 85% of the consumers are female

Profession.png

2.More than half of the consumers are home makers

​

Usage freq.png

3.More than 36% of the consumers colour their hair once in 3 weeks which is the industry standard, They use Iba's hair color regularly and not just on occasions

​

Spend time.png

4.More then 50% of them spend their time in Insta, Followed by YT

Recruits.png

5.Source of Business: Henna,Powder Hair colour and Kali Mehendi

​

Users factors.png

6.Factors they consider while choosing a hair colour. Top 3 is Safety, Ease and Coverage.

​

Ideal Consumer Profile - 1

​

​

ICP1

ICP2

ICP3

Age

25-34

35-45

35-45

Gender

Female

Female

Female

Location

Metro

Metro+Tier1

Metro+Tier1

Time Spent

Insta, YT, OTT

Insta, YT

Insta, YT, FB

Frequency of Usage

Once in 5 weeks

Once in 3 weeks

Once in 3 weeks

Reasons to use

Early Greying, So root touchups &

for Healthy hair

more than 50% Grey hair,

full application, for grey

coverage

​more than 50% Grey hair,

full application, for grey

coverage

Source of Business

Creme Hair Color, Looks for

Fashion colours as well

Hair Color Powder Users,

Henna Brand Users (Comp)

Home made

Henna Uusers

Key Look out

Colour Delivery, Safety, Shades

Safe, 100% Grey coverage,

Easy to Apply

Safety, Easy to Apply

Halal & Vegan Requirement

Good to have

Good to Have

Must Have

Influencer

Celebs, Content

Celebs,Friends & Family

Friends & Family

Blocker

Hair Colors with Fashion shades

Other Hair color powders

If it is not Halal

​

ICP Evaluation

​

​

ICP1

ICP2

ICP3

Adoption Curve

Tough

Easy

Medium

Frequency of Use

Low

High

High

Appetite to pay

Yes

Yes

Yes

TAM

Very High

High

High

Distribution Potential

High

Very High

Tough

ICP 1 - Adoption Curve is tough because they wouldnt mind trying a creme hair colour. They would look for fashion shades. while 2 and 3 is not that tough.

​

ICP Choice: ICP 2 & ICP 3

​

​

Calculating TAM, SAM, SOM

External Research

​

Category

Market Size (Crores)

Total Hair Colors

5300

Creme

1802

Pure Henna

583

Powders

901

Herbal Powders

1325

Others

689

The Market that we will be playing is "Herbal Powders" this includes Henna+Ingredients. Source: Euromonitor - Market Size and Subcategory sizes percentage taken from GCPL Investor presentation 2018

Today we are at 0.3% of the total market size. If we achieve to 1% over the year we are looking at a business size of 13 cr in one category that Iba operates

​

Bottom Up Approach

​

Age 35-44 Only

Header

All

Only Muslim

​

Female Population

Universe

10 Cr

1.5 Cr

​

Female Urban Population(36%)

TAM

3.6 cr

0.54 cr

​

Online Transactors (50%)

SAM

1.8 cr

0.25 Cr

​

Obtainable for Iba (10%)

SOM

18 L

2.5 L

​

​

Core Value Proposition

Iba Henna Based Hair Colors - Safe, Easy to Apply Hair colors with 100% Gray Coverage

Designing Acquisition Channels

JTBD - ICP 2

When my Grey hair starts appearing, I want to easily color my hair at home which is easy and safe to use, so that I maintain a youthful appearance without spoiling my hair

​

JTBD - ICP 3

When my grey hair starts appearing, I want to easily color my hair at home which is easy and safe to use so that I maintain a youthful appearance without compromising on my faith

​

Experiments

​

Experiment 1: Paid Ad Strategy for ICP2

Experiment 2: Paid Ad Strategy for ICP3

Experiment 3: Referral Program for Hair Colors

​

Experiment 1:

CAC: Rs.400

LTV: 320 x 1 x 6 = 1920

CAC: LTV

400 : 1920

1 : 5

ICP 2: 35-44 Years, Looking for easy, safe hair colors, currently using Henna/ Herbal Powders

Campaign Framework

​

ICP2

​

​

Channel Selection

Instagram+ Youtube

​

​

Audience Segment

35-44, Metro+Tier 1

Behavior: High Engaged Shoppers, Look Alike Audiences

from Website, Natural Haircare Products, Organic Haircare

Shoppers, Henna Hair color Shoppers, DIY Beauty,

Hair Coloring, Haircare

Interests: Watching Hair

care tutorials,

Purchase Beauty Products Online, People

interested in Organic & Natural Products,

Beauty Influencers followers,Actively Engage with

Beauty content, People who watch long form content

Campaign Structure

​

​

​

Objective

Add to Cart

​

​

Ad Groups

Same as Audience Segment above

​

​

​

Marketing Pitch and Creative Execution

​

Marketing Pitch

Medium 1

Medium 2

Safe, Vibrant Henna Hair Color with Iba

Static

Video

Effortlessly Beautiful - Easy to use Henna from Iba

Static

​

No Harmful Chemicals - Vegan Certified Henna Hair color

Static

​

Say no to Hair Color Inconsistency - Say Hi to Iba

Static

​

Ditch your dye, Iba Henna Hair color - Safe and Easy

​

Video - Testimonials

Say no to Harmful chemicals, Yes to Iba Hair Color

​

Video - testimonials

No More Scalp Itching, Just Beautiful Color and Shine

Static

Video

​

Ditch Your Dye, Say Hi to safe Hair Color (1).png

​

Black And Beige Modern Elegant Hair Products Sale Instagram Post (4).png

​

GORGEOUS COLOR (1).png

I have created the ads keeping in mind the problem statement of the ICP, Through these ads the outcome is to seed in the doubt of their existing hair colors and switch to Iba. The creatives arent as good looking as it should be, But can give this as directions to the design team.

​

Experiment 3: Referral Program for Hair Color

Brag worthy Thing about the Product: Iba Henna Hair color is the safest easy to use natural hair color

Platform Currency: Money + Access + Fame

​

Iba Hair Colour ------- Free Color Credits ------ Access to Limited Edition Collection on Cosmetics------Trip to Umrah/ Singapore

​

Who will you ask for referral: Any customer who has bought our hair color more than twice are eligible for this referral program, If a customer is buying the hair color for the third time this means they like our hair color - so they become eligible for this program. Last year there were more than 5K customers who Bought Hair colors more than twice .

​

Everything on Referral experiment is attached as the below PDF

​

​

​

Referral Design.pdf

Experiment 2: Paid Ad Strategy for ICP3

ICP 3:

​

JTBD - ICP 3

When my grey hair starts appearing, I want to easily color my hair at home which is easy and safe to use so that I maintain a youthful appearance without compromising on my faith

​

ICP 3: Source of Business is from Home Made or Unorganised henna players

Pian Points: Color inconsistency, Extremely Cumbersome

Barrier to Purchase other Brands : Compromising on Faith

​

Key challenge: I am aware we cant target our TG through religion filer, So I am using surrogates, Most of Ibas audiences are muslims so creating look alike audiences uploading our customers as well.

​

​

​

ICP 3

​


Channel Selection

Instagram+ Youtube

​


Audience Segment

35-44, Metro+Tier 1

Behavior: High Engaged Shoppers, Look Alike Audiences

from Website, Natural Haircare Products, Organic Haircare

Shoppers, Henna Hair color Shoppers, DIY Beauty,

Hair Coloring, Haircare, Following Modest fashion Influencers,

Watching Islamic content, Engaging Halal Content,

Interests: Watching Hair

care tutorials,

People

interested in Organic & Natural Products,

Modest Fashion, Family and Community, Islamic apps,

Quran learnings, Mufti Menk, Ramzan, Eid Ul Adha,

Urdu Shayari, Urdu Poetry

Campaign Structure

​

​


Objective

Add to Cart

​


Ad Groups

Same as Audience Segment above


​

​



​

Marketing Pitch & Execution

​

Marketing Pitch

Medium 1

Medium 2


Confidently Color your hair with Iba Halal's henna - Halal certified, No Harmful chemicals

Static

Video


Ditch the orange, Iba Henna hair color is Halal certified and comes in Amazing Colours

Static

Video

​

Finally, A Halal henna hair color, Safe, Natural and Certified Halal

Statoc

​

​

Who says Henna makes your hair Orange? Have you tried Iba Halal Henna?

Static


​

Finally, A Hair Color that is Halal.png

Finally, A Hair Color that is Halal.png

Finally, A Hair Color that is Halal (1).png

​

The Idea behind the last 2 ads is that I have used the cues of Islam in design, Assuming it will give a high CTR amongst TG


End of all three exeperiment designs. Looking forward for great feedback.


Ps: I am not a designer so i have just demonstrated the idea and tried my hands on design.

​

​

​

​

​

​

​

​

​

​

​

​

​

​

​

















Brand focused courses

Great brands aren't built on clicks. They're built on trust. Craft narratives that resonate, campaigns that stand out, and brands that last.

View all courses

All courses

Master every lever of growth β€” from acquisition to retention, data to events. Pick a course, go deep, and apply it to your business right away.

View all courses

Explore foundations by GrowthX

Built by Leaders From Amazon, CRED, Zepto, Hindustan Unilever, Flipkart, paytm & more

View All Foundations

Crack a new job or a promotion with the Career Centre

Designed for mid-senior & leadership roles across growth, product, marketing, strategy & business

View All Resources

Learning Resources

Browse 500+ case studies, articles & resources the learning resources that you won't find on the internet.

Patienceβ€”you’re about to be impressed.